top of page


Learn more about the IELTS test, its types and fees, which test you should take, and what scores you need to achieve.

What is IELTS test?


The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an English language test designed to help you study, migrate, or work in a country where English is the native language. 

IELTS has two test types: IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training, both of which assess your English language skills in listening, reading, writing, and speaking. 

IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia, and Cambridge Assessment English. 

Why take IELTS?

You must be able to demonstrate a high level of English language proficiency if you want to work, live, or study in an English-speaking country.

For people wishing to migrate to countries like Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the UK, IELTS is the test of choice. Over 11,000 employers, universities, schools, and immigration organizations worldwide, including 3,400 institutions in the USA, recognize IELTS as proof of English language proficiency.

IELTS Academic

If you want to study at an English-speaking institution or university (higher education), the IELTS Academic test is the right choice for you.

The test evaluates whether you’re ready to start studying in English. It uses terminology that is common in academic contexts. IELTS Academic can also be taken for professional registration purposes.

IELTS Academic can be taken either on paper or on computer.

IELTS General Training


IELTS General Training test is the best fit for you if you want to study below degree level, which includes studying at an English-speaking school or college. IELTS General Training can also be taken for work experience or other employment training.

Additionally, IELTS General Training is required for migration to Australia, the UK, New Zealand, and Canada. The test covers common English language skills needed in social and professional settings.

You can also take IELTS General Training on paper and on computer.  

The location of where you want to study, work, or migrate will affect which exam you need to take. For example, if you want to go to the United Kingdom, you will specifically need to take the IELTS for UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) test. This can either be the IELTS General Training for UKVI test, IELTS Academic for UKVI test, or the IELTS Life Skills A1 or B1 test, depending on your purpose for being in the UK.

What IELTS score do I need?

The better your IELTS score, the more proficient your English communication skills are. Each immigration body, university, workplace or institution will have specific IELTS score requirements. The score you need will depend on what you are looking to do in the country, i.e work or study.

What are the IELTS fees in KSA?

The IELTS exam fees are the same in both Al Khobar, Jeddah and Riyadh.

IELTS on paper test fees:

  • General Training and Academic (1390 SAR) 

  • UKVI General Training and Academic (1410 SAR) ( Coming Soon )

  • Life Skills (800 SAR)

IELTS on computer test fees:

  • General Training and Academic (1390 SAR) 

  • UKVI General Training and Academic (1410 SAR) ( Coming Soon )

Make sure to visit the relevant institutional or government websites to determine which test you should take, as institutions, government agencies ,and other recognizing organizations set their own IELTS entry requirements.

bottom of page